What I Needed at the Start of Advent

I finally got around to watching the first video of a year-long series at St. Matthew Cathedral Parish in South Bend, Indiana on the oh-so-important topic of prayer.

There’s nothing more practical than prayer.

But, for anyone who studies theology or spends any amount of time serving in the Church, I think it’s always a challenge to not be subconsciously intimidated into feeling as if our own prayer lives aren’t up to par with the amazing things we read about prayer, spirituality, the saints, etc.

This talk from Msgr. Michael Heintz is a great affirmation that what makes a prayer life a real relationship with God is regularity and authenticity. Meaning, my prayer life has to fit and organically flow from me–who I am, what my routine is like, and more. This is what God asks. This Advent and always.

h/t  to Mary Ann Wilson for the video 🙂

Leave a Reply

